30 April 2016

Rob Zombie - The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser

One could be forgiven that both the artwork for this album as well as the album title itself are excessive. But no, it's Rob Zombie's thing. Kitsch psychedelic imagery and crazy song titles are something that are quite prominent in his musical output. It was prominent in his band White Zombie, so it's something he's got form on. The song titles are equally as crazy, something we'll see in a minute.

This is the sixth solo album of his career, something I found as a surprise as I thought he was concentrating on his film career. I know we're all about the music on here, but as I'm sure you're aware, RZ has a few films under his belt too. My views on these are NOT reflective of the other contributors to the blog, and whilst I can appreciate they make a lot of people happy, I always felt that aside from The Devil's Rejects and Lords Of Salem, I did NOT enjoy his other films at all. In fact, I would have walked out of Halloween 2 if the ticket hadn't cost £8. It seemed to me that despite aiming for the "so bad it's great" vibe of 70's movies (most notably those of an exploitation horror variety), they were still too glossy and shiny for that. Watered down for the mall-kids generation. A bit like the solo career, in a way. Mind, I've only heard the first two solo albums (Hellbilly Deluxe and The Sinister Urge respectively) so for all I know things may have changed but songs like "Foxy Foxy" and "Sick Bubblegum" didn't exactly fill me with confidence! The whole thing seemed to confirm my suspicions that whilst he was in White Zombie, the others were able to keep his worst excesses in check and that since then, he hasn't had the restraint he needs or even the band with the talent to make great music. Going solo has put a crimper on that and there is now a lack  of quality control. Plus, landing two top albums (La Sexorcisto and Astrocreep 2000 respectively) at the exact right time didn't harm either. Like I said, it's a view that DOES NOT represent the blog as a whole and I may be more wrong than when I gave Slayer - Repentless a 7. But anyway, let's have a listen.

Turns out that RZ solo band now comprises of former Marilyn Manson members Ginger Fish and John 5. So we've got the ingredients of a decent band so far. Lets hope they can do some good things.

1) The Last Of The Demons Defeated - Album opener which sounds ok. Mid-paced and heavy which is nice. Talk of "electrice war, acid witch" Sounds like something to open the live show with.

2) Satanic Cyanide! The Killer Rocks On! - A bit slower with acoustic interludes amid the electric stuff. Is this a new direction for RZ? It used to be a case of doing stuff that was a bit faster than this, I guess RZ fancied a change.

3) The Life And Times Of A Teenage Rock God - Quite percussion driven with some chugging riffs amid a creepy sample proclaiming "it's really magic". A bit plodding, but not too bad. Nice guitar fill midway through which reminds me of Iron Maiden. Then things break down towards the end with sounds of a live show before resuming norrmal service.

4) Well, Everybody's Fucking In A UFO - Seriously? Crap song title aside, this song starts off promising enough. Pulsating bass-line whilst RZ rants off over the top of it. Thumping chorus though. This song reminds me of Primus, particularly for the verse structure. It's not a bad song but isn't quite as gonzo as it promises.

5) A Hearse That Overturns With The Coffin Bursting Open - Acoustic interlue which is ok. Doesn't really go on for too long.

6) The Hideous Exhibitions Of A Dedicated Gore Whore - A mid-paced rocker chock-full of samples, synths and decent riffs. But despite all this, it doesn't land nearly as much as it should. Shame, as the intent is there.

7) Medication For The Melancholy -  John Carpenter-inspired synth line opening leads into the kind of rocking number the last song wishes it was. The synths on this are quite good and lead to an already mentioned John Carpenter feel, albeit with more bells and whistles. I like this one.

8) In The Age Of The Consecrated Vampire We All Get High - Synth and crashing chords open the song before we get something which brings to mind early Fear Factory! It's rather good. Things get a bit slow for the mid-section but normal service is soon resumed. It's not too bad.

9) Super-Doom-Hex-Gloom Part One - Synth heavy to the max! It's something that probably would have sounded better as an album opener. Reminds me of video game music.

10) In The Bone Pile - Heavy stomper with surprising restrained song title. It's not too bad, but could have done with more work to make it more special.

11) Get Your Boots On! It's The End Of Rock And Roll - Another one of those glam rock-inspired stompers that RZ concocts from time to time. Not too bad. Which seems to be a recurring theme here...

12) Wurdalak - Slow, doomy thing. Almost at a crawl. Nice piano section at the end.

And there we go, another album put to bed. Now I liked the way that new things were tried on this album and that it wasn't the watered-down groove-metal for mall-rat kids of the past. That was fine. There are some great songs on here. However, despite the best efforts of the band involved, there wasn't really anything on here that would pull me back in for another listen. I'll be over in the corner with a copy of Astrocreep 2000.

7 - This is good and well worth a check.

Top Track: Medication For The Melancholy.

Chris J.

This album is on iTunes.

Official Website

(WARNING: Contains Sherri Moon Zombie trying to act)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Past sermons

Greatest hits